Aga Zaryan and Leszek Możdżer will be a part of the jury of the Jazz Individuality 2020 competition

Jazz Individuality 2020 competition follows the tradition which began in 1964 and remains to this day one of the most important features of the Jazz on the Odra Festival. We’ve just learnt who will be judging the aspiring musicians this year.

The jury of this prestigious competition will include talented musicians, journalists, critics, and experts from the music industry. Every year their experience helps select a winner, which receives not only a cash prize, but also gains recognition of his colleagues and greater prospects on the Polish jazz scene. The invitation to join the panel of judges was accepted by: an acclaimed jazz vocalist Aga Zaryan, Paweł Brodowski – chief editor of the Jazz Forum, Mariusz Bogdanowicz – a fantastic double bass player and composer, Tadeusz Mieczkowski – talented sound director, and Leszek Możdżer – world renowned pianist and artistic director of the Jazz on the Odra Festival.

Over the course of two days the jury will judge eight finalists. Each one will have 20 minutes to present their work, talent, and musical inspiration. On 9 October the Unleashed cooperation, Semiotic Quintet, Ola Błachno Quartet and Damian Hyra Quartet will perform. On 10 October we will see the Gawroński / Lechki Consolidation Collective, Marcin Pater Trio, Chojnacki Miguła Contemplations and Boogie Skiedrzyński. The musician will compete for Grand Prix of the Jazz Individuality 2020 – that is PLN 25,000 provided by the President of Wrocław, and additional titles.

This year the competition performances will be held at the Impart theatre hall, which has sufficient space for a larger audience, considering the current sanitary restrictions. Also the finalists’ performance will be broadcast by Radio Wrocław Kultura as well as streamed online on the festival’s Facebook page.


9 October (Friday)

7:00 pm              Jazz Individuality 2020 competition

10 October (Saturday)

5:00 pm              Jazz Individuality 2020 competition


Tickets for the finalists’ performances are available at